Montana, “The Last Best Place”

Hi friends,

Bala here. Long time no talk! It’s been a long few months of finishing up my last two undergraduate quarters.

I am currently (stuck) in Montana doing field work with my major department. Honestly, field work isn’t too bad, but it really isn’t my cup of tea. I’ve only been here for about a week (of the three where I’m in Montana), but I’m already super exhausted. My daily schedule consists of waking up at 7am for breakfast, field work from 8am to 4pm, dinner at 5:30pm, and night lecture at 8pm. Field work is the most exhausting part of my schedule. I’ve been literally scaling cliffs and trekking valleys in the middle of nowhere while mapping out the land that I cover. I don’t mind being outdoors, but seriously there isn’t anything out there, just dirt, rocks, and cacti in all directions. At least I’m getting a nice dark farmer’s tan while working on my cardio.

I have two more weeks of this before I’m going back to Seattle. I’ll be doing two weeks of GIS work there before moving back to California for good! I’ll try to update more in the new future (since there’s really nothing fun to do around here).

Catch ya all later!
– Bala

Leave a Reply

