An eventful, but happy week. (Part 4)

Bala, back at it again with the late posts. Sorry…but thanks to all of you readers for waiting! I know it’s been a while, so feel free to catch up with Part 3 before you continue reading and finishing up the series! Without further ado, here is the finale to my eventful and happy week.

Pipa’s visit to Seattle was to end the night of October 25, when she would fly back home to California. I didn’t really try to let the thought of it get to my head during the days Pipa was with me. Honestly, I was definitely still so blown away by Pipa actually being in Seattle with me. I think this was a good thing because I would not have been able to enjoy my day as much as I did if I thought too much about her leaving that night.

Tuesday morning , Pipa and I actually got up early to go to have some nice breakfast food. We went to a well-known breakfast/brunch location called Portage Bay Cafe. There happens to be a location near UW campus, and Pipa has never tried it before in her previous Seattle trips. Pipa ordered some Mexican-styled breakfast while I had some salmon benedicts. I love eating breakfast and brunch, but I always have the issue of not having a large appetite right after I wake up. Luckily, the food was great, and I actually managed to finish all of my food. It had actually been a while since I had enjoyed a large, tasty breakfast, and even longer since I had enjoyed waking up early to go on a casual breakfast date.

After breakfast, I unfortunately had to attend class in the morning before I could go have fun. Luckily, the one lab class that I had that day only had one short assignment, so I actually got out of class early. Meeting up with Pipa, we decided to pick up some ShareTea boba drinks before taking a Lyft over to the Space Needle. We explored the area while looking for the best spot for a cute couple photo. The overcast clouds and greyness of the atmosphere made it really difficult, but we tried. Have I ever mentioned that the grey skies in Seattle tend to make me feel somewhat more down? Well, I’m very glad I had Pipa there to keep my energy up during a cloudy day.

Let’s see. Oh yes, after seeing the Space Needle, the two of us decided to take a pretty long walk all the way from there to Pike Place Market for the second time. We wanted to go again to take some better pictures, enjoy some Pike Place chowder, and ride the Seattle Great Wheel. The walk there was fairly long, but it actually didn’t end up being too bad. We walked along the sidewalk that felt kind of like a promenade that went along the water. Pike Place was the same as last time, but this time, it was much more active due to the time of the day.

Unfortunately, at this time, I started feeling not too well as well as fatigued. It was nearing the end of the day, so I wanted to make the most out of the last 3-4 hours I had with Pipa. The last thing we visited in downtown Seattle before we rode the Link light rail to the airport was the Seattle Public Central Library. Going all the way up to the top floor of the library and looking around from that high viewpoint was not something Pipa had done before. She hadn’t even been to the modern-styled library before, so I think it was something new that she got to experience at the end of her visit.

Going to the airport was obviously not something either of us really wanted to do, but we got there early to spend some time to just talk and enjoy each other’s company for the last time before Thanksgiving. I’m not going into details on that because in case you guys haven’t noticed, in less than 24 hours, the two of us are going to be reunited again back in California! I seriously can’t wait to be home for the first time this year, not just to see Pipa again, but also to see my family as well as other friends. That was the end of the October 2016 adventures in Seattle that Pipa and I had, and I can’t wait to write about and share our future adventures. Until then, I only have one thing in mind: going home and seeing Pipa tomorrow!

– Bala
11/21/2016

Leave a Reply

